Experience

The Benefits of Pilates

 

More than just a physical activity, Pilates is a way of achieving both physical well-being and its positive impact on the mind.
A daily quest for physical and mental balance, the search for harmony between muscles, mobility and stability, strength and endurance.

Balance

Improve posture and balance

Strengthen

Deep muscles

More flexibility

Helps prevent injuries and reduce the limitations of your body

Stay Relaxed

Relief

From pain and tensions … Relax!

Better coordination

Improves coordination and breathing

Body and mind

Increase awareness of the body and its close connection to the mind

The inventor of Pilates

Joseph Hubertus Pilates

Joseph was born in Mönchengladbach, Germany on 9 December 1883. As a child he suffered from rickets, asthma and acute rheumatic fever, and consequently devoted his whole life to improving his physical resistance. As a youth, he practiced physical education, wrestling and gymnastics (which he later also taught). By the age of 14, he was muscular enough to pose for anatomical charts.

In 1912 Joseph moved to England, where he became a boxer and circus performer and taught self-defence. When the First World War broke out in 1914, he was treated as a “foreign enemy” and interned with other Germans in camps near Lancaster and on the Isle of Man. It was during this time that he developed the foundations of the Pilates method, using the mattress springs of the camp beds to add resistance and support to his exercises. He would later explain that his years of internment were invaluable as they gave him time to develop his method.

He became a nurse in the camps, which allowed him to work on the rehabilitation of the sick and wounded. He also taught the other prisoners the physical exercises he had developed. He would later proudly claim that thanks to his daily physical training, none of the internees under his supervision succumbed to the 1918 flu epidemic that killed thousands across England.

After the war, he returned to Germany and continued his training program in Hamburg, refining his methods with members of the city police force.

In 1926, worried about political developments in Germany, he emigrated to the United States. It was on the ship carrying him to New York, the Westphalia, that he met his future wife Clara. The couple opened a studio in New York where for four decades they would teach the method they then called Contrology.

His book Your Health was published in 1934 and Return to Life through Contrology was published in 1945.

Joseph Pilates died on 9 October 1967 in New York City at the age of almost 84. Clara died on 13 May 1977 at the age of 95.

The philosophy of Joseph Pilates

Every human being is born with a universal right, the right to remain in good health. With this fundamental idea, Joseph developed a complete repertoire of more than 500 specific movements to maintain, strengthen, and fluidify the body.

His method was built on the following principles:

  • Breathing
  • Concentration
  • The core
  • Control
  • Precision
  • Fluidity

Leave us a message !

Adress

11F route de Soral

1232 Confignon

Suisse

11 + 9 =

Expérimentez

Les bénéfices du pilates

 

Plus qu’une activité physique, le Pilates est une recherche du bien-être physique et de son impact positif sur le mental.
Une quête journalière de l’équilibre physique et mental, la recherche de l’harmonie entre les muscles, la mobilité et la stabilité, la force et l’endurance.

Equilibre

Améliore la posture et l’équilibre

Renforce

Les muscles profonds

Plus de flexibilité

Aide à prévenir les blessures et réduire les limitations du corps

Rester Relax

Soulage

Les douleurs et tensions… Relax!

Meilleure coordination

Améliore la coordination et la respiration

Corps et esprit

Augmente la conscience du corps et de son lien étroit avec le mental

Son inventeur

Joseph Hubertus Pilates

J

Né à Mönchengladbach, en Allemagne le 9 décembre 1883, enfant rachitique, souffrant d’asthme et de rhumatismes articulaires aigus, Joseph consacre sa vie entière à améliorer sa résistance physique. Durant sa jeunesse, il étudie la culture physique, la lutte et la gymnastique, matière qu’il enseigna par la suite. Dès l’âge de 14 ans, il fut suffisamment musclé pour poser pour des planches anatomiques.

En 1912, Pilates s’installe en Angleterre, où il devient boxeur puis artiste de cirque, et enseigne les techniques d’auto défense. Lorsque la première guerre mondiale éclate deux ans plus tard, il est traité en «ennemi étranger» et interné avec d’autres Allemands dans un camp proche de Lancaster, puis sur l’île de Man. Cette étape marquera un tournant dans la vie de Joe, et est considérée comme étant la période où Joseph développa les fondations de la méthode Pilates. Joseph a toujours expliqué que les années passées dans le camp ont été précieuses car elles lui ont données du temps pour développer sa méthode, et c’est là qu’il a commencé à utiliser les ressorts des lits/matelas afin d’ajouter de la résistance et du support à ses exercises.

Il devient infirmier dans ce camp ce qui lui permet de travailler à la rééducation de malades et blessés, et il enseigne aux autres prisonniers les exercices physiques qu’il a mis au point.

Avec fierté, il a toujours affirmé que grâce à sa méthode d’entraînements physiques journaliers, aucun d’entre eux ne succomba à l’épidémie de grippe qui tua des milliers de personnes en 1918 en Angleterre

Après la guerre, Joe retourne en Allemagne et poursuit son programme d’entraînement à Hambourg et affine ses méthodes auprès des forces de police de la ville.

En 1926, inquiet de la tournure politique que prend l’Allemagne, il émigre aux États-Unis. C’est sur le navire, le Westphalia, qui le conduit à New York que Joe rencontre sa future femme Clara. Le couple crée un studio à New York où lui et Clara vont y enseigner sa méthode qu’il appelle “Contrology” durant quatre décennies.
Joe écrivit deux livres : “Your Health” publié en 1934, et “Return to Life through Contrology” publié en 1945.

Joseph Pilates meurt le 9 octobre 1967 à New York City à l’âge de presque 84 ans. Clara quant à elle, décède le 13 mai 1977, à l’âge de 95 ans.

La philosophie de Joseph Pilates

Tout être humain naît avec un droit universel, le droit de rester en bonne santé. À partir de cette idée, il a élaboré un répertoire complet de plus de 500 mouvements spécifiques pour entretenir, renforcer, assouplir le corps.

Il construit sa méthode sur les principes suivants :

  • La respiration
  • La concentration
  • Le centre
  • Le contrôle
  • La précision
  • La fluidité

Laissez nous un message !

Adresse

11F route de Soral

1232 Confignon

Suisse

12 + 9 =