Pilates for

Swimmers

  • Improved Strength
  • Fluidity Of Movement
  • Coordination And Flexibility
  • Optimal Breathing
  • Sensory Awareness
  • Whole-Body Balance

Improve Your Performance

Working with athletes, especially junior competition swimmers, has further reinforced my belief that Pilates should be a non-negotiable part in the physical preparation of any athlete.

Tailored preparation

Alexandre (triple Swiss champion) improving dive technique on a Pilates ladder barrel…

Since 2015, I have been helping junior swimmers from the Competition and Elite groups (aged 12-21) of Lancy Swimming Club in Geneva with their physical preparation, in order to cope with the challenges of their heavy training schedule and to improve their competitive performances.

From the age of 12, swimmers in the Competition group train at least 12 hours per week. Their still-developing bodies are subjected to many hundreds of repetitive movements using the same group of muscles and joints. Injuries in swimming are frequent, particularly to the shoulders, if the body is not sufficiently ‘prepared’.

The core principle of Pilates is to use and look after the WHOLE body. However, in most sports only a fraction of the body’s muscles really contribute. Furthermore, if a sport is practiced intensively, the athlete risks neglecting other sports and movements that would use the entire body and thereby maintain balance. The athlete subconsciously tends to develop compensating techniques for this, that over time will lead to tension and quite possibly injury.

It is also essential for the body to ‘warm up’ before intensive training – however junior athletes often neglect to warm up properly due to lack of ‘time’ or knowledge. This is particularly important for a swimmer whose training takes place in water at 26-27 degrees Centigrade, almost 10 degrees lower than his body temperature.

In my time with Lancy Swimming Club, I have developed a special warm-up routine for swimmers, targeting not only the shoulders but also the whole body’s joints and muscles. I follow this with deep muscle work, with a focus on the abdominal, scapular girdle and back extensor muscles. I also work on hip stability to aid the glide through the water, as well as on stretches and roller massage. I emphasise exercises in a state of ‘instability’ to help the athletes cope with the inherent instability of working in water.

I encourage athletes to observe, feel and know their own bodies, and to understand how their body works and where they may be overcompensating. Over the long-term, even the smallest changes can make a big difference.

Several of the Elite group swimmers exercise in my studio on Pilates equipment, which allows them to add resistance to their movement and to build power and endurance. In each exercise, I look for alignment and ideal posture.

Pilates helps a swimmer to build inner strength, to fluidify movement, and to improve coordination, flexibility, power and endurance. A balanced body will help the swimmer to glide through the water and to sufficiently relax in order to extend the movements of strokes while protecting joints. Pilates also aids the swimmer to better coordinate breathing and movement.

Preparing athletes is a particularly rewarding role that has helped me to better tailor my teaching to the needs of the person in front of me. The principles of Pilates and the philosophy of Joseph Pilates are an essential part of the work I do with these athletes.

  • A swimmer’s environment is water, which is inherently unstable and lacking in aids to the senses.
  • From a young age, training hours are intense.
  • The junior swimmer is competing and training at a time when their body are constantly changing.
  • Swimming consists of highly repetitive movements of the same group of muscles and joints.
  • Les mouvements répétitifs sur un même groupe de muscles et articulations
  • Roller massage.(Grid).
  • Warm-up of shoulders, spine, knees and ankles.
  • Reinforcement of the scapular belt.
  • Active stretches.
  • Active stretches.
  • Hip stability.
  • Alignment.
  • Reinforcement of back extensor muscles.
  • ‘Gainage’ / planking.

A balanced body will help the swimmer to glide through the water and to sufficiently relax in order to extend the movements of strokes while protecting joints. Pilates also aids the swimmer to better coordinate breathing and movement.

Pilates will help a young swimmer to:

  • Build inner/deep strength
  • Fluidify movements.
  • Improve coordination.
  • Improve flexibility.
  • Whole body balance.
  • Improve breathing.
  • Improve sensory awareness in the water.
  • Understanding of the body and where there may be overcompensation.

Leave us a message !

Adress

11F route de Soral
1232 Confignon
Switzerland

4 + 5 =

Pilates pour

Nageurs

  • Développement de la force
  • Fluidité du mouvement
  • Coordination et souplesse
  • Respiration optimale
  • Amélioration des repères dans l’espace
  • Compensation et surcompensation

Amélioration des performances

Travailler avec des sportifs, et tout particulièrement des jeunes nageurs a encore renforcé ma conviction que la méthode pilates devrait être une partie non-négociable dans la préparation d’un sportif.

Une préparation spécifique

Voici un exercice pour le plongeon avec Alexandre champion titré 3 fois etc…

Depuis 2015, je me suis engagée à aider les jeunes nageurs du groupe Compétition et certains nageurs du groupe Elite du Lancy Natation dans la préparation de leur corps pour faire face aux contraintes de leur sport, au montant d’heures d’entraînement journalier et les aider à performer dans l’eau, élément instable.

A partir de l’âge de 12 ans, les nageurs qui s’engagent en compétition vont s’entraîner au minimum 12 heures par semaine. En pleine croissance, leur corps est mis à rude épreuve avec des centaines de mouvements répétitifs sur un même groupe de muscles et d’articulations. Même si la natation n’est en soi pas un sport dangereux, les blessures peuvent facilement apparaître, principalement aux épaules si le corps n’est pas suffisamment “préparé”.

Un des principes du Pilates est de s’occuper de l’entièreté du corps. Dans la pratique d’un sport, généralement seulement une partie des muscles va être mis à contribution. Si ce sport est pratiqué de manière intense, cette personne n’aura pas le “temps” de faire d’autres sports/mouvements qui permettraient de s’occuper de l’entièreté du corps et de par ce fait, de garder un équilibre. Le sportif va installer de manière inconsciente des compensations qui au fil de temps vont développer des tensions, et probablement, pour des sportifs d’élites, des blessures.

Autre élément essentiel, le corps a besoin d’échauffements. Pour un jeune sportif, le réflexe de s’échauffer avant l’entraînement n’est pas encore acquis. Souvent il n’y pense pas, ne sait pas comment échauffer son corps, et/ou pense qu’il n’a pas “le temps’”. Cet aspect est particulièrement essentiel pour un nageur qui est sur le point de commencer son entraînement en plongeon dans une eau à 26-27 degrés, soit presque 10 degrés de moins que la température de son corps.

Ainsi j’ai mis au point un programme d’échauffement spécial pour les nageurs, ciblant bien évidemment les épaules, mais aussi le reste des articulations et muscles de l’entièreté du corps. S’ensuit un renforcement des muscles profonds avec un accent sur les abdominaux, la ceinture scapulaire et extenseurs du dos. Je travaille également sur la stabilité du bassin afin d’aider le glissement dans l’eau. Les étirements, et les massages en proprioception ont une place importante dans le programme.

Ensuite, il s’agit de s’observer, de ressentir et d’apprendre à connaître son corps, la façon d’un chacun fonctionne et ses compensations. C’est un travail en finesse de longue haleine.
Je privilégie les exercices en déséquilibre afin de retrouver un élément instable qui rappelle leur élément : l’eau.

Pour certains Elites comme Nils, ils s’exercent sur les équipements Pilates, ce qui leur permet d’ajouter de la résistance à leur mouvement et par l’occasion, construire de la puissance et de l’endurance. Dans chaque exercise, je recherche l’alignement et la posture idéale.

Le Pilates va aider un nageur à construire sa force intérieure, à fluidifier ses mouvements, à améliorer sa coordination, à garder sa souplesse (ou à la construire) tout en développant puissance et endurance. Un corps équilibré va permettre au nageurs de glisser, de relâcher afin de trouver de l’amplitude dans ses mouvements tout en protégeant ses articulations et attaches musculaires. Il va également apprendre l’importance de coordonner respiration et mouvement.

Préparer un sportif est un travail particulièrement enrichissant qui m’a appris à moduler mon enseignement en fonction du but recherché et de la personne devant moi. Et je me rends compte que tous les principes du Pilates sont essentiels et présents dans mon enseignement selon la philosophie de Joseph Hubertus Pilates

  • Un nageur évolue dans l’eau, surface instable avec perte de repères dans l’espace.
  • Le nombre d’heures d’entraînements est très élevé dès un jeune âge.
  • Le corps et le mental d’un nageur en compétition est toujours en plein changement.
  • Les mouvements répétitifs sur une même groupe de muscles et articulations
  • Les mouvements répétitifs sur un même groupe de muscles et articulations
  • Massage sur rouleaux (Grid).
  • Echauffement épaules, colonne vertébrale, genoux et chevilles.
  • Renforcement ceinture scapulaire.
  • Etirements actifs.
  • Abdominaux profonds.
  • Stabilité du bassin.
  • Alignement.
  • Renforcement extenseurs du dos.
  • Gainage.

Un corps équilibré va permettre au nageur de glisser, de relâcher afin de trouver de l’amplitude dans ses mouvements tout en protégeant ses articulations et attaches musculaires. Il va aussi apprendre l’importance de coordonner respiration et mouvement.

Le Pilates va aider un jeune nageur à :

  • Construire sa force intérieure/profonde.
  • Fluidifier ses mouvements .
  • Améliorer sa coordination.
  • Entretenir ou développer sa souplesse.
  • Harmoniser son corps.
  • Améliorer sa respiration.
  • Améliorer ses repères dans l’espace.
  • Apprendre à connaître son corps, ses forces et compensations.

Laissez nous un message !

Adresse

11F route de Soral
1232 Confignon
Suisse

6 + 6 =